Faculty

These are NCSU faculty who were members of the Department of Microbiology before the realignment.

 

Dr. Eric Miller
Professor
Bacteriophage genomics
eric_miller@ncsu.edu

Dr. James Brown
Associate Professor and

Undergraduate Teaching Coordinator
RNA biology
james_brown@ncsu.edu

Dr. Jose Bruno-Barcena
Assistant Professor
Lactic acid bacteria; physiology, genetics and bioprocessing
jose_bruno-barcena@ncsu.edu

Dr. Amy Grunden
Associate Professor
Functional genomics
amy_grunden@ncsu.edu

Dr. Paul Hamilton
Assistant Professor and

Director of MMB Program
paul_hamilton@ncsu.edu

Dr. Hosni Hassan
Professor
Oxidative Stress
hosni_hassan@ncsu.edu

Dr. Michael Hyman
Professor and

Director of Graduate Programs
Bioremediation
michael_hyman@ncsu.edu

Dr. Mark Keen
Teaching Assistant Professor
Undergraduate Teaching
mark_keen@ncsu.edu

Dr. Scott Laster
Professor
Cellular immunology
scott_laster@ncsu.edu


Dr. Alice Lee
Teaching Assistant Professor
Undergraduate Teaching
amlee3@ncsu.edu

Dr. John Mackenzie
Professor & Coordinator
Center for Electron Microscopy
Electron Microscopy
john_mackenzie@ncsu.edu

Dr. Jennifer Miller
Assistant Professor
Borrelia Burgdorferi pathogen-host interactions

jen_miller@ncsu.edu

Dr. Jonathan Olson
Associate Professor
Microbial Physiology/Pathogenesis
jonathan_olson@ncsu.edu

Dr. Tim Petty
Professor
Virology
tim_petty@ncsu.edu

Dr. Frank Scholle
Associate Professor
Viral pathogenesis
frank_scholle@ncsu.edu

Dr. Michael Sikes
Associate Professor
Developmental Immunology
mike_sikes@ncsu.edu

Dr. Deborah Threadgill
Assistant Professor
Gastrointestinal microbiology
deborah_threadgill@ncsu.edu


Emeritus Faculty

Dr. Paul Bishop

Emeritus Professor, USDA/ARS

Alternative nitrogen fixation

paul_bishop@ncsu.edu

Dr. Walter Dobrogosz
Emeritus Professor
Gastrointestinal microbiology
walter_dobrogosz@ncsu.edu

Dr. Gerald Elkan
Emeritus Professor
Symbiotic nitrogen fization
gerald_elkan@ncsu.edu

Dr. Gerry Luginbuhl
Emeritus Professor, formerly Assistant Director
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences,
Academic Programs
gerry_luginbuhl@ncsu.edu

Dr. Leo Parks

Emeritus Professor

Dr. Jerome Perry

Emeritus Professor